Snobbery with Violence by Marion Chesney

Click on image to purchase
This was my first foray into Ms. Chesney’s Edwardian mysteries. I have enjoyed all of her Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth books written under the name M.C. Beaton. It was a a decent mystery with decent characters, but I prefer the books written as M.C. Beaton. I did figure out the murderer before the end of the book. I thought it was pretty obvious. She went into detail about the rigamarole the poor women of that time had to go through to get dressed (thank goodness I was born when I was!). The effort that went into a girl’s season or coming out to find a husband was ridiculous! And the belief that someone with Syphilis could be cured by having sex with a virgin is incredible! For that time period and the propriety that came along with it there sure was a lot of sneaking into rooms in the middle of the night and hanky panky going on in this book. I liked Rose, the main character. She pretty much was her own person and didn’t conform to ‘the image’ of a proper young lady (but not by joining in the hanky panky) by having a mind of her own and having some intelligence. I have the second one in the series on the shelf so I will read it but I don’t think I would bother to buy anymore of them. It was okay but not the greatest.
Leave a Reply

