Tikil Gomen (Ethiopian Cabbage Dish)

I have made this dish a couple of times and it is very good, but it never turns out very attractive. The cabbage always seems to cook down to nothing. I shred it like the recipe says. The potatoes take much longer to cook than the recipe says and that isn’t good for the cabbage. The spices make it look so yellow. So this post is going to be a bit different…I’m not going to give you this great recipe…I’m going to give you the recipe I’ve made and not been entirely happy with and then give you the research I did since and how I’m going to make it next time!

Old recipe…

1/4 cup olive oil
4 carrots, thinly sliced
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/2 head cabbage, shredded
5 potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes

Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Cook the carrots and onion in the hot oil about 5 minutes.

Stir in the salt, pepper, cumin, turmeric, and cabbage and cook another 15 to 20 minutes.

Add the potatoes; cover. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook until potatoes are soft, 20 to 30 minutes.


This is my finished product. Not too pretty but it does taste very good.

but, I want it to look more like this.

So what’s wrong here… is shredded the wrong word to use in the recipe? I found another recipe that said chopped and one that said coarsely shredded. Much better I think so we’ll change that. One called for Yukon Gold potatoes, they cook up faster. I used regular old russet, Idaho potatoes so we’ll try different potatoes? One recipe says 1/4 cup of oil, some say 1/2 cup and one said 1/3 cup, hmm. Then there’s the spices, most of the others only call for the turmeric and some for a jalapeno pepper. But then I found this, a video of an Ethiopian woman making it!

 
I like the looks of this but it doesn’t have carrots. And she uses 1 cup of oil! but she does the potatoes separate and fries them! So authentic Tikil Gomen doesn’t have carrots. I like the carrots though so I want to keep them in.

This is the recipe in the video…

CABBAGE AND POTATOES (Tikil Gomen)

You will need: Heavy bottom medium deep pan
Heavy bottom medium frying pan
Wooden spoon

Ingredients:
1 lb chopped cabbage
3 medium potato
1 cup chopped red onions
2-4 medium jalapeños peppers cut Julienne style
2 cups water
2 tbsp minced garlic
½ tsp minced ginger
6 tbsp oil (olive, corn or vegetable)
Salt to taste

Peel potatoes and wash in cold water.   Cut potatoes in wedges.  Fry potatoes and set aside.  Wash cabbage well under running water to remove dirt and grit.  In a medium pan, sauté onion over a low heat, stirring until translucent and soft.  Add garlic, ginger, salt and oil, mixing well.  Add cabbage and cook for 25 minutes Add potatoes stir gently until potatoes are tender.

I think I will try this recipe next time and see how it works out and play around with adjusting the previous recipe and try that again and I’ll let you know how they turn out! Stay tuned…

here are a few other links to recipes for Tikil Gomen
Recipe 1 
Recipe 2 
Recipe 3

Leave a Reply

