My Antonia, by Willa Cather

A beautiful classic! Wonderful characters! A vivid depiction of the harshness of pioneers lives on the Nebraska prairie in 1890. How they endured I’ll never know! Close lifelong friendships, immigrants, differing religions, death in deep winter during a terrible snowstorm. Interesting all the way around. I highly recommend it.
Read about it here
This is available for free in Ebook form here


Published in 1918

This was also made into a movie in 1995 starring Jason Robards and Neil Patrick Harris.

Peggy Ann

6 thoughts on “My Antonia, by Willa Cather

  1. Hope listening made your driving time fly by. I live in Nebraska and I've never read this – that's embarrassing. πŸ™‚ I'll add it to my list.

    Like

  2. I love this book. Particularly Jim's train journey at the beginning – you can feel the burning red dust. My favourite Cather, though, is probably The Professor's House. A wonderful novel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

