My Name is Victoria Winters

How many of you remember Dark Shadows the gothic soap opera from 1966-1971? The governess, Victoria Winters and Barnabas Collins the vampire! Quentin Collins the werewolf! I rushed home from school everyday to watch it. Dreamed about Barnabas biting me. Adored Quentin’s Theme! And who could forget Willie Loomis!

Go down memory lane and watch that wonderful scene that introduces Barnabas to the show…

Quentin
Remember the Blue Whale! 

Watching this again is like a comfort read for me.  I’ve been watching it again from the very first episode on Netflix. Quite hokey compared to today’s standards, but it still has IT. Whatever IT was. When my grandkids, who are very special effects savvy,  come to my house and I put it on they are glued to the screen for hours on end. It cracks me up! There are 26 seasons. It’s taken me about 2 1/2 yrs. to get thru season 13. Sometimes there is a long wait for a particular disc. But last week I discovered RETRO-CAFE! Every episode right there to watch at your leisure online! Fabulous! No commercials! Check it out!

Remember all the Dark Shadow’s gothic novels too? Did you read any of them? I did as a teen!

 HERE’s a link to a list of them

HERE‘s a great resource for everything Dark Shadows.

And did you know they still have a Dark Shadows Festival each and every year in New York City? Yep and some of the actors still come. Check it out HERE. This year they are doing a Bermuda Cruise instead! Oct. 27-Nov. 3. Too bad I didn’t see this before now, might have been able to talk hubby into that! They even have a fan club. Yep I joined and have my official members card. Don’t know what I’ve done with it though:) I got a newsletter in the mail once.

Sadly Jonathan Frid who played Barnabas (and frequently attended the festival) passed away in April 2012.

The entire series is available for purchase too, HERE you can buy new or used!

Hope you enjoyed our trip down memory lane! Did you watch it as a kid? What was your favorite memory of the show and who was your favorite character?

This post is linked to R.I.P. VIII challenge over @ Stainless Steel Droppings and counts for my Peril on the Screen challenge! Stop over and check out all delicious spooky goings on for the month of October!

UPDATE 11/26/13: Retro Cafe had to remove the Dark Shadows series from it’s site at the request of the company that holds the rights to it. No longer available free online:(

Peggy Ann

4 thoughts on “My Name is Victoria Winters

  1. Oh, boy, do I remember! I also used to rush home from school. My sister and I would make bologna sandwiches swimming in French's mustard and plant ourselves in front of the TV.

    I wanted to name my firstborn Angelique; I had never seen anyone so beautiful or so elegant. I thought Quentin was pretty fine, too. It was fun to watch Barnabas evolve from a creepy vampire to a misunderstood creature imbued with pathos.

    Like

  2. Such great fun, Deb! I wanted to name my son Quentin! Laura Parker who played Angelique is still beautiful. On the Netflix DVD's there are interviews with the people involved in the production at the end of each disc. It's nice to see what they look like now and what they remember from the show.

    Like

  3. I remember the show, but never got into it. I was hooked on General Hospital, All My Children and One Life To Live.

    Thanks for the link to Retro Cafe, I think I'll check it out and see what I missed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

