Italian Beef Stew

I came across this recipe for Italian Beef Stew on Pinterest and it looked so good in the pic I just had to try it. Of course there were multiple versions of the recipe with the same pic. My pic is not as lovely as the one Pinterest but mine never are:( I made it today and I have to say this pic does not do it justice! It is deliciious! The broth is thick and rich and yummy. So here is my version…

Italian Beef Stew

olive oil for sauteing 
1 1/2 cups chopped onion 
1 1/2 cup sliced carrots, (4 or 5)
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1/4 cup all-purpose flour 
2 pounds boneless chuck roast, trimmed & cut in cubes (I used a bottom round roast)
salt
black pepper
1 cup sweet red wine 
1 28 oz. Italian stewed tomatoes
1 1/2 cups fat-free, lower-sodium beef broth
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
1 bay leaf
1 (8-ounce) package cremini mushrooms, quartered
3/4 cup (1/4-inch-thick) slices carrot
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

cooked orzo or noodles

Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan. Add onion and carrot; sauté 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; sauté for 45 seconds, stirring constantly. Remove from pan.

Season beef with salt and pepper; dredge or just sprinkle flour over beef and make sure it is coated good.  

Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan. Add half of beef to pan; sauté 6 minutes, browning on all sides. Remove from pan. Repeat procedure. You want good brown drippings and coating on the bottom of the pan for flavor!

Add wine to pan, deglazing and scraping up all the good bits! Bring to a boil. Cook until reduced to 1/3 cup (about 5 minutes). Return meat and the onion mixture to pan. Add tomato and next 6 ingredients; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 4 hours (until meat is good and tender), stirring occasionally. Discard bay leaf. Salt and pepper to taste, add fresh basil.


I added some cooked orzo to mine. You could serve over noodles. Or eat as is!

Of course you want to have fresh bread to sop up the juices!

Enjoy!

This post is linked to Weekend Cooking @ Beth Fish Reads!

 


10 thoughts on “Italian Beef Stew

  1. This looks delicious… I'm still searching for the perfect beef stew recipe, so will give this a try. BTW, I got here from Pinterest – the link over at Beth Fish Read's doesn't seem to be working.

    Like

  2. Sorry about the link JoAnn, I tried it and it seemed to work. Gremlins I guess:) I make an Irish Stew recipe that is wonderful too. Will post that next time I make it! Easy and delicious.

    Like

  3. I need a Dutch oven! I like to cook pasta separately and put the stew over it when serving, because of how it absorbs the liquid and gets a little mushy for my taste. Your picture is great, and the stew looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

