Whaler’s Bay

This has been the winter of puzzles at our house! This is the 12th one since starting them in November! This is partly why I don’t get enough reading done. I can’t seem to stay away from the table.

I love Charles Wysocki puzzles the most and have started collecting them. There are dozens and dozen of them and I get several on ebay each year for our winter entertainment. We pack them away in a box to save for when we get really old, not that we aren’t ‘old’ now! We figure in 10 years it will be like doing them for the first time again!

This one, Whaler’s Bay, was a real treat for me. It’s an 1986 puzzle in great shape with all the pieces. I found it on Amazon for $79 used! No, no I’m not that crazy! I got it on ebay for $7.99! Some of his puzzles are re-issued with new names and some of them are never seen again. Those ones can pull in some money online! Like this one! Just check out the Amazon pages for his puzzles and see the prices! If your patient and wait you can get them on ebay for $15 or less including shipping!

Dampy’s Donuts on a Dreary Day is one I really want and I let it get away from me last year for a really good price and this year I could only find 2 online and both were way up there! Over $50! I’ll keep looking, sooner or later…

Back to Whaler’s Bay, this one has odd shaped pieces so is a little more fun. They don’t ‘lock’ in some sides so you have to be careful.

Here’s a list of the ones we’ve done this year so far, click on the link to see a picture.

Whaler’s Bay 
Labor Day
Nantucket Flyers
Old Main Street
Dahlia Dinalhaven Makes a Dory Deal
Reading and Riding  (My header pic!)
Autumn on Stony Creek
Getting Things Ironed Out With Caruso
Westcott’s Black Cherry Harbor
Hi, Neighbor
Plumbelly’s Playground
and one Thomas Kinkade puzzle – Homecoming Hero  (this is not the puzzle but the art work that the puzzle is a copy of!)

Still to do to finish out the winter…
Birch Cove Point
The Three Sister’s of Nauset, 1880
The Young Patriots
Train to Town
Pickwick Cottage

One Thomas Kinkade – A Quiet Evening
One Heronim Wysocki (brother to Charles) Harvest at the Mission

What do you do on your cold winter’s day?

Peggy Ann

7 thoughts on “Whaler’s Bay

  1. I have never heard of this puzzle artist, but upon looking at these puzzles, I realize I've never seen puzzles like this, so big, detailed, interesting. When I was a kid in Chicago, my sister and I did boring puzzles of seascapes or fields or other scenes. Nothing like this.

    But, even better to this cat-lover are his cat puzzles. I just saw two adorable ones, Maggie the
    Messmaker, and another one of two cats wrapped up together in front of a crackling fireplace.
    My gosh, those puzzles would have kept me busy (and not doing reading) in those days. Thanks
    to the wonders of the Internet, I just sent my sister a photo of the latter cat puzzle. I don't know
    if she does them any more.

    Now, I have other distractions on cold days: TV, dvd sets of British crime fiction shows, reading
    some mysteries, and also I read the NY Times and do the puzzle. That's OK early in the week, but on Fridays and Saturdays they're harder, and I can really put time into solving them. Not sure
    it's always productive, but it's fun.

    Hope you have fun.

    Can you suggest any Scottish crime fiction that is neither gruesome or too cutesy. I'm going
    to read Entry Island soon and more Rankin and am waiting for Denise Mina. Oh, I do have
    Kate Atkinson's Life after Life, but part of it's set in WWII Germany, not relaxing at all. So
    it'll have to wait.

    Like

  2. Kathy, I adore all the little nuances of the picture in Wysocki's puzzles. The people, usually a dog or cat, always horses and buggies, the different colored houses and the sea and boats. My husband knows by now if there is a wee dog in it to leave it for me to put together!

    A.D. Scott is a Scots writer and her books are set in the 1950's Highlands. Great mysteries, not cosy,more substance than that, but not gruesome. They are some of my favorite books! check out my book reports on her books under the label of her name. Also check out Katherine Pathak, Josephine Tey, Celia Pearson, Mark Douglas-Home, John Buchan, Michael Innes, E.X. Ferrars, James Runcie and Catherine Aird. All good reading!

    Like

  3. I also love the Wysocki puzzles, Peggy, though they're harder to find over here. Another favourite is the Thomas Kincade ones. I'm doing most of my puzzles online now but as I was given a couple of nice ones for Christmas I must get back to doing real ones soon. It's such a lovely way to pass the time.

    Like

  4. Thanks for the A.D. Scott suggestion.

    On others, I've read Mark Douglas-Home and Henrietta Who? by Aird, which I loved. I have
    to see what the library has, as I'm trying not to buy books. I already got irked because it
    does not have Entry Island, only one copy noncirculating and inaccessible to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

