Mail Call

Look what came in the mail today!

‘It’s a marvellously atmospheric tale, and, I thought, caught exactly the mood and feeling of a small Scottish country town in the Victorian era. it seemed to be full of hills and mist and whispers and carryings-on behind the facade of so called respectable small town life.’   

             ~Diane Pearson (author of CSARDAS)


‘Mary Tullis, the umbrella-maker’s daughter,…has a touch of the ‘Jane Eyres‘ about her…She (Janet Caird) has also woven a dark tale of country superstition and prejudice…into a satisfying story…well and thoroughly done…We need books like these.’

~Jean Stubbs (author of By Our Beginnings
I loved the two Caird books I read and want to read them all. I was so tickled to find a copy of this book online! Now do I read it as soon as I finish ‘The Lewis Man‘ or do I hold off and savor the thought of reading it for awhile?!
Leave a Reply

