The Lewis Man by Peter May

Book’s back cover:
A MAN WITH NO NAME
An unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog; the only clue to its identity being a DNA sibling match to a local farmer

A MAN WITH NO MEMORY
But this islander, Tormod Macdonald – now an elderly man suffering from dementia – has always claimed to be an only child.

A MAN WITH NO CHOICE
When Tormod’s family approach Fin MacLeod for help, Fin feels duty bound to solve the mystery

This is the second in a trilogy. I’ve read several reviews that say they liked it better than the first book. Although I really liked this one too I think I liked the first one better. The body in the peat bog was really interesting and of course the sense of place and atmosphere is wonderful as in all his books. I just liked the wrap up of the first mystery a bit better.

Good characters and relationship growth. Looking forward to peeking in on them in the third book, The Chessmen.

Here’s a nice write up on this book in The Scotsman

Peggy Ann

2 thoughts on “The Lewis Man by Peter May

  1. I loved both of them, although for different reasons. I thought they did the dementia story well. I have the 3rd book, but I keep waiting to read it because that will be the end. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

