Katrina’s Sausage Pie!

Katrina made her special Sausage Pie while I was in Scotland. It was so good and hearty. The leftovers are even better! I tried to emulate it when I got home. Our sausage is marketed differently and I wasn’t sure which kind would be best to use. I finally settled on chorizo because of its size. Katrina used a basic pork sausage links but they are larger in size there. All I could find here was small skinny breakfast links.

*Saute onion
*add sausage pieces and potato slices
cook until sausage is browned and potatoes starting to soften
*add a can of tomatoes, I crushed them up with my hands and I used a large can 28 oz.
*Heat through add a little cornstarch to thicken
*put a crust on top, I used homemade pie dough but you could use store bought shortcrust or pie dough
*Bake in 350* oven for 30 minutes or so until heated and browning on top.

I did mine in my cast iron skillet so I didn’t have to transfer to a oven safe pan or casserole dish. It wasn’t as good as Katrina’s but we liked it and will have it often. Next time I will use breakfast links and just put more in and see how that works.

Katrina said you could put anything you want in it, left over veggies, garlic etc. If you have anything to add or correct on this, Katrina, jump in via the comments!

One thought on “Katrina’s Sausage Pie!

  1. I usually put an apple into it quite late on because if you put it in too soon it goes mushy or disappears altogether. I cut it into about 6 or 8 wedges. Apples traditionally accompany pork here – and of course it's a way of getting Jack to eat some fruit! Ooh and add in some Lee and Perrins or any other kind of Worcestershire sauce. If you don't want to make it into a pie – have it with spaghetti. Yours looks good, I must get myself a skillet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

