Collops of Beef

Katrina sent me home with a cute little cookbook, Favorite Scottish Recipes Traditional Caledonian Fare. I have several pages marked that I want to make. Collops of Beef is the first one I’ve tried. I did make Cranachan after my first trip to Scotland, but Katrina sent me a link to a recipe for that on the BBC website. The same recipe is in this book. A delicious dessert! I’ll add that recipe at the end of this post, back to the beef…

Collops of Beef

1 1/2 lb. piece of braising steak, sliced into 4 pieces
1 onion, chopped
6 oz. mushrooms, sliced
2 tablespoons flour
2 oz. butter
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Bayleaf (optional)
3/4 pint beef stock

Set oven to 350* or Mark 4. Mix the flour with the salt and pepper. Coat the beef slices with seasoned flour. Melt the butter in a frying pan. Fry the collops for about 2 minutes on each side. Remove from the pan and set aside. Gently fry the onion and the mushrooms. Put the onion and mushrooms and a bayleaf (if desired) into a casserole. Lay the collops on top. Pour in the stock, cover and cook for 1 1/2 hours. Serve with buttered mashed potatoes and a green vegetable. Rowan or redcurrant jelly goes well with this dish. Serves 4.

FullSizeRender-4This is before I added the beef stock. I did use a bayleaf. I would cook it for a half hour more next time. Love the art work!

FullSizeRender-3Finished product. We didn’t have a green vegetable though, a rather bland looking plate but it was delicious! The flavor was fantastic, I could have licked my plate!

Cranachan

1 pint double cream
3 tablespoons clear honey (heather honey is best)
3 tablespoons whisky
4 tablespoons thick, plain youghurt
1 oz. fine oatmeal
6 oz. raspberries

Toast the oatmeal in a pan under a hot grill until golden. Set aside to cool. Put the cream, honey and whisky in a bowl and whip together until it forms peaks. Fold in the yoghurt. Spoon the mixture into a serving dish and chill in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours. Before serving, sprinkle the oatmeal over the mixture and pile the raspberries in the centre. Serves 6.

Ideally Cranachan should be made with Crowd, a soft Scottish cheese but yoghurt makes a good substitute.

This wasn’t sweet enough for Bossman’s American tastebuds, but I loved it.

 

One thought on “Collops of Beef

Leave a Reply

