MacKay’s Used Book Store Trip

IMG_20170722_093855_985I finally got to MacKay’s in Knoxville! I had a wonderful morning all by myself roaming as long as I wanted to with no one else hurrying me. It’s a lovely big store, so organized and clean. They have cool little buggies that you put the plastic hand-held baskets like at the grocery store when you aren’t buying a lot. You can put two on this buggy. They sell used books, DVD’s, CD’s and video games. There was also a small table of used board games and one of jigsaw puzzles. There is a mezzanine and a glass elevator up to it. You can trade in your books for credit. I doubt I’ll do that as I won’t get over there often and I’ll give them to the library sale anyway.

IMG_20170722_122603_742 IMG_20170722_094410_961

They don’t have a lot of older books like I like as they are quite picky about the books they take in. I did manage to get twenty six books though! Almost all the older mysteries I saw on the shelves! And most of them for .90 or .75 cents! They don’t seem to value older books at all! I also picked up a set of four Herule Poirot movies! Now I have a set of him and one of Miss Marple. Maybe my grand-daughter and I will sit up late and watch them while she is here. She loves watching my British mysteries with me. They are coming in this week for a month. Anyway back to the books…

FullSizeRender-7 FullSizeRender-6

always wanted to read Elly Griffiths and our libraries over here don’t carry them. I was tickled to find one! The other day Yvette @ in so many words… reviewed Elizabeth Daly’s Arrow Pointing Nowhere and I told her I really wanted to read that one. Treasure of the day! Only Elizabeth Daly book in the store! Sweet!

And two jigsaw puzzles, one of which wasn’t ever opened!

FullSizeRender-4

The Kilvert’s Cornish Diary arrived in the mail this week and the other two books I picked up at a junk store we stopped in. Remember, I mentioned the Kilvert diary in my review of Lord Mullion’s Secret?

FullSizeRender-5

All in all a very good outing! Have you read any of these?

8 thoughts on “MacKay’s Used Book Store Trip

  1. I am so envious, all those great books and at such good prices. I have only read a few of them (that I can remember for sure). Suicide Excepted by Cyril Hare. The False Inspector Dew by Peter Lovesey. and The Fashion in Shrouds. I will be re-reading that one soon. I liked all of and hope to have time to reread all of them someday.

    Like

  2. What a fun trip! All those great books! I love Elly Griffiths and Cyril Hare, although it’s been a while since I read any of Hare’s books. I’ve been reading my way through Margot Arnold’s archeology mysteries. I love the Asey Mayo books and now have all of them, although I have a few to read yet. I also have the book on shrubs you bought! Have fun with your grandkids and all your new old books!

    Like

    • I’ve been collecting the Asey Mayo books, Joan, but have only read one so far and enjoyed it a lot! I was hoping for a copy of the Audubon Tree guide but they didn’t have one and I thought the shrub book would be nice. Someday we will get around to changing up the landscaping here at the house. I really want a Crepe Myrtle, they are so prolific around here and so lovely.

      Like

  3. Oh Peggy! I am absolutely DROOLING with envy reading about your foray into MacKay’s! Like you I tend to like older books, and you really made a haul! WOW! I’ve read Trent’s Last Case — remember the title but not the book. I own all of Cyril Hare’s books, & gave them all 5 stars. I like Michel Innes but haven’t read all of his books, not any of the books you bagged. Trying to collect all the Elly Griffiths to read in one go; have owned all the Georgette Heyer books since I was a teenager, and didn’t like Lament for a Lady Laird (or the other book by this author) — my 2 stars was generous I think. Let me know when you get around to reading Suicide Excepted — we can do a group read.
    Kate

    Like

    • Kate that’s such good news that you gave Hare’s books all 5 stars! I have one other on the shelf, Death is No Sportsman. I wasn’t really sure about Lament for a Lady, but it’s a Foul Play Press book and I like that publisher, and for 90 cents I couldn’t go wrong! I will let you know when I get to Suicide Excepted!

      Like

  4. What a haul! I have a lot of Michael Innes books, but not all of those ones. I think you’ll like the Elly Griffiths one. I see the book on shrubs so I hope you can dig up some lawn. A whole month with the kids – you’ll be exhausted, but have great fun!

    Like

    • They had a few more Innes books too but I controlled myself😁. The kids are getting older and not so much ‘work’, we’ll have a great time. They both like to read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

