It’s Cowboy Cookin’ Time!

I came across Cowboy Kent Rollins of Oklahoma on Youtube a while back. He is a hilarious, fun, chuck-wagon, cowboy cook. That’s a mouthful of cowboy, but he is all that and a bucket of chicken! Kent is a chuck-wagon cook who has worked for traditional working cattle ranches for over 20 years. I picked his latest video with the recipe for Famous Oklahoma Fried Onion Burgers to share with you because I’m dying to make these myself! Boyo is away house-sitting at the moment so I’m going to wait for him to come home to make them.

Oklahoma Fried Onion Burgers originated in the 1920’s during the depression as a way to economize. Less beef more onions. Ross Davis at the Hamburger Inn in Ardmore OK is attributed with coming up with the idea. Juicy smashed burger and loads of very thinly sliced onions grilled until caramelized… I know your droolin’ already…

Didn’t I tell you he was a load of fun?! I have learned so much from Kent about Cast Iron cooking! Check out all his videos on his channel. You can also get the printed version of this recipe and so much more at his website. Head on over there right now!

I’ve just got to share this one with you too! Cackleberry eggs cowboy style he calls it! This one highlights more his on the range cooking set up and something I love to eat!

You’ll never peel eggs the same again! Kent’s wife Shannon does the filming, the dogs are always around and we get glimpses of the Oklahoma landscape. It just makes me feel good to watch him cook! I hope it does you too!

As Kent always says… It’s a good day above the grass!

3 thoughts on “It’s Cowboy Cookin’ Time!

  1. I’ve made a note of this guy because I love American food and cooking shows and we’ve recently started watching YouTube on our TV. (Love American weather vids!) On regular TV one of my favourite cooking shows is Pioneer Woman. Love Ree Drummond and her ranch and family.

    Peggy, can you let me know the title of the book you mentioned on my blog, the one about missing persons and murders in The Great Smoky Mountains? Thank you so much.

    Like

    • Into the Mist by David Brill
      ‘Tales of Death and Disaster, Mishaps and Misdeeds, Misfortunate and Mayhem in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park’ and it says volume 1! More to come. I picked it up in the visitor center at the park. Most visited National Park in the US!

      It’s amazing what you can watch on YouTube! I’ve discovered a wealth of old movies there too and I thought I would have to track them down and buy them. Our weather channel here has some great shows on at night, all weather related. Guys that rescue semi trucks wrecked in bad northern area winters to murder mysteries now! We watch it a lot at night as regular TV is such rubbish 😢. Another great cooking show on YouTube is Whippoorwill Holler, you’ll love her!

      Like

      • Thanks for the title, Peggy. I had a look on Amazon and the book was £31, so I probably won’t be getting that. LOL! I did buy one book for my Kindle a couple of weeks ago, People Missing in the Woods by Steph Young, I’m hoping that will be interesting. I wonder if you got your book at the same Great Smokies visitor park we stopped at… I bought a beautiful mountain scene jigsaw puzzle there. No idea how I got that back in my suitcase, but I did!

        Our regular TV is rubbish too. Woke, left-wing claptrap, the BBC is a shadow of its former self. Huge movement here to cancel the license fee because we shouldn’t have to pay them to preach at us. Yes, when we’ve been over in the US we nearly always watched The Weather Channel on TV in the motels in the evenings. Loved it.

        Like

Leave a comment